Skip to content
February 24, 2012 / kaitlynkh

And the Oscar Goes To…

The Help. And that’s it.

Shh, I’m not biased. I’m just infatuated with this movie and rightly so. I see a ton of movies, as I am a sucker for the ways the previews can draw you in. I also rarely let a poor or positive review affect me in any way, as I like to come to my own conclusions. For instance, it’s possible that I am still the only person who didn’t think “The Hangover” or “Bridesmaids” were the greatest comedies ever released (Losing all control of your bowel movements in a Bridal boutique isn’t a clever idea for a scene. It’s something that happened to the writers after a late night filed with too much In-N-Out and there’s a problem in that itself)

The reviews for “The Help” are overwhelmingly encouraging, but there’s also many who think like Ebert when he says, “I was drawn into the characters and quite moved, even though all the while I was aware it was a feel-good fable, a story that deals with pain but doesn’t care to be that painful.”  Really? I felt a TON of pain. In fact, I haven’t sobbed like that since Russell was awarded the Ellie badge in “Up.” I would go so far as to say that I have never been as moved as I was by Viola Davis in her role as Aibileen. It was a movie that changed how I feel and what kind of person I want to be, and I don’t think any further review is necessary.

Stay tuned for a post-Oscar recap after Sunday. Here’s some Pinterest-party ideas for if you’re hosting a get together, those  of which I will be utilizing for our annual Academy Award party. Yes, my mother is planning on making those cookies. Let your jealousy ensue…

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. sadbblog / Feb 25 2012 8:14 pm

    Can you bleieve I have not see it yet?! I wanted to read the book first, and I have not even started it yet, so the movie has not been seen either. (lowers head and shakes it)
    Now I just want to watch the movie already! Great review!

Leave a Reply

