Skip to content
March 8, 2012 / kaitlynkh

To Catch a Mocking Jay.

Twenty-four are forced to enter. Only the winner survives. 

Upon completing “The Hunger Games” series (in a few weeks mind you), I immediately scoured the internet for news of a possible film to accompany the books and was thrilled to hear that it was already in the works. Now we are just a few weeks out and my excitement for this film almost rivals how I feel in the few weeks before a new Twilight is released (I like good movies too, don’t start judging just yet). However, I do have a few reservations about Jennifer Lawrence playing Katniss. While she is beautiful and from I read, a talented actress, I keep picturing Hailee Steinfeld in the main role. Clearly, this is mainly based on appearance , but the few snippets of Jennifer in the trailers don’t wow me either, so I’m counting on her to exceed my expectations (Kristin Stewart has yet to do so, but Pattinson’s hair makes up for that). I do think the two lead males were great choices as well as Stanley Tucci in the role of Caesar (let’s be honest, Tucci is amazing in everything he does. Devil Wears Prada, anyone?)

In order to channel my excitement for the movie, it’s only right that I bake these. It’s not a Mocking jay pin, but if you ask me… it’s even better. Hunger Games fans: Do the trailers give you confidence that the movie will stay true to the books?

(via)

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. sadbblog / Mar 8 2012 7:22 pm

    I’m scared too! The books were just so good. However I disagree, I love kristin as Bella and think she did a great job. I remember not being thrilled about Robert being casted but obviously I jumpped on the team Edward train fast enough so I’m hoping the same will happen with this cast! (fingers crossed!!)

    • kaitlynkh / Mar 8 2012 8:47 pm

      I too like Kristin Stewart in the role of Bella, but what bothers me is that she acts no different when I see her interviewed in real life, so I am led to believe that she’s not really “acting.” But nonetheless, I can’t imagine anyone else playing her role.

  2. therisselmanfamily / Mar 8 2012 8:14 pm

    I’ve been going back and forth on starting the series, almost finished with the Rum Diary, and needing a new book. The more I see about the Hunger Games, the more I’m thinking I should stop thinking about it, and buy the first book already!

    • kaitlynkh / Mar 8 2012 8:48 pm

      Erica, stop whatever you’re doing right now and get the books! You’ll be hooked instantly, I promise! Get back to me with your review ASAP 🙂

      • therisselmanfamily / Mar 8 2012 11:42 pm

        That’s it… Next time I go to the store I’m picking it up. 🙂 I will definitely keep you posted once I start reading it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

